Vanity gallery ICO Gallery in NYC is a scam
February 13, 2010
I have been seeing people's blogs asking questions about this nafarious gallery in NYC. they are scam artists, they move around the city like gypsys everytime someone catches on to them. if you are an artist on the internet you will get an email from them saying how wonderful your work is blah blah blah...they used to have a websitecalled freearttomorrow.com which they took down after I started posting that they were a vanity gallery and it would cost you thousands of $$ to show your work people do your research vanity galleries are worthless and will do more harm to you and your reputation as an artist than its worth. REAL galleries might take a percentage of sales but they put it up front for you not the other way around. As an artist you should NEVER have to pay to show your work. Of course this is your choice but after 35 years in this business I say artists beware!!!
Posted by sparrowbj on April 22, 2010
This saved me a lot of time, thanks dude.<meta name="robots" content="noindex, noarchive, nofollow, NOYDIR">
Posted by fluds on March 23, 2010
March 23rd 2010.Well I have just been contacted by ICO gallery NY. First they said no when I stared asking for a reply to my questions.They were very rude, good business practice. Then a guy called Robert mailed me and said they were interested. The fees are $3000 - $15000. He said they advertise and promote far more than anyone else. Also they would be taking a risk with someone new. Risk, its my money. I said that the 50% they also take as well should cover all gallery expenses as is the norm. I got a long email about advertising, media, connections which when you read through it meant nothing except get out there if and when you can.
They seemed quite rude again when I said that the fee was crazy. Oh well just have to keep painting and see what happens next. I should not grumble sales are going well. fluds
Posted by garystearly on March 25, 2010
they are the pigs of the art world. They used to have a website called www.freearttomorrow.com which is still down after I stated teling people on the site that they were a rip-off. it says our sever is down...for over a year?? which sucks because I put a lot of effort into my page there before I found out who they were. spread the word I would like to see these scumbags shut down. they seem to prey easly on foreign artists who have to pay them and pay to have teir work shipped there and back it must cost a freak'n fortune!! if you sold every painting in your show and they take 50% you still wouldn't cover costs!!
Posted by fluds on March 25, 2010
Thanks. Confirms what I thought from the getgo. Saved me from a lot of hassle
Posted by hudgins on March 07, 2010
I was contacted by them awhile back.
Posted by garystearly on March 07, 2010
yep they send out emails to almost every artist that has a website. It cost $2500 to start and they don't put this info up front. Vanity galleries are never any good for your carreer as an artist
Posted by fotofiddlerphotography on February 15, 2010
Wonderful advice!